Market Insight
SPRING 2017

Annual report
Year 2017

Market Insight
FALL 2017

Market Insight
WINTER 2017-2018

4 Available chapters - Download the PDF

Economic context in Europe

Quaterly real GDP growth rate and outlook for the Eurozone (%)

Source : OECD - Economic Outlook January 2017 and June 2017

 

  • The pace of economic growth in Europe surpassed expectations at the beginning of this year, propelled by resilient private consumption, a synchronized global upswing, and low interest rates.
  • In Germany, the largest European economy, year-on-year growth in 2017 is expected to be 2.3 %, compared to 1.9 % in the Euro area as a whole. For 2018, the projected rate is 1.9 % in Germany and 1.7 % in the Euro area.
  • Growth in Germany is currently driven by exports and investments, and by rising private consumption. In the manufacturing sector, new orders and output expectations improved.

 

Exports from European Union (UE) countries outside (Extra-EU-28) and inside (Intra-EU-28) the EU (Index 2010=100)

Source : Eurostat

 

 

  • Exports of EU countries to countries outside the EU are stimulated by a synchronized global upswing, related to the economy of BRIC countries (China, Russia, Brazil, India).
  • The appreciation of the Euro against the US-Dollar since spring 2017 may have dampened this growth a little, but could not change its overall direction (According to forecasts of the EU Commission (European Economic Forecast – Autumn 2017, published in November 2017), the Euro’s nominal effective exchange rate is foreseen to appreciate by about 6 % over 2017 and 2018. This could dampen the export growth but is not supposed to change it fundamentally).
  • Intra-EU-trade is continuing its increasing path, and has accelerated since the beginning of the year. Similarly since January 2017 imports from countries outside the EU to the EU have steadily increased and Q2 2017 imports increased by 1% compared to Q2 2016.

 

 

Industrial activity and inland navigation

 

Index of industrial production in the EU-28 and goods transport in the EU

Source : Eurostat

 

Index of industrial production in the EU-28 and goods transport in the EU

Source : Eurostat

 

  • In parallel to exports, industrial production growth has accelerated since the beginning of 2017. The year-on-year growth rate was 2 % in Q1 2017, 3 % in Q2 2017 and already 4 % in Q3 2017.
  • IWT transport performance in the EU reached 38.5 billion tkm in Q2 2017, compared to 38.0 billion tkm in Q2 2016. The year-on-year growth rate was 1.2 %, and therefore around half as high as growth in industrial production.
  • Despite the recovery of IWT traffic in Q2 2017, a gap in growth dynamics compared to the industrial production still remains.

 

 

Economic situation of inland navigation-related sectors

 

Mineral oil products segment

Refinery output in the EU and crude oil prices

Source : Eurostat (Refinery output) and Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (Oil price)

 

Refinery output in the EU and crude oil prices

Source : Eurostat (Refinery output) and Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (Oil price)

 

  • Oil prices were decreasing in the 1st half year, but this trend was reverted by a strengthening global oil demand and production disruptions due to hurricanes in the USA.
  •  Supply will be affected by two main points: 1. The OPEC and Russia decided to extend their production cuts until March 2018. 2. The US shale oil production keeps increasing.
  • Counterbalancing these two effects, and taking into account a modestly rising oil demand, forecasts for oil prices in 2018 and 2019 point to a level of 55.7 US-$ in 2018 (average) and a similar level in 2019 (European Economic Forecast – Autumn 2017, published in November 2017).
  • Fuel prices in inland shipping continued in an upward movement in Q2 2017, and were on average 30 % higher in Q2 2017 than in Q2 2016. For the 2nd half year and for 2018, a sideways movement is probable, based on oil price forecasts for this period.

 

Development of fuel prices in the ITW sector (€/100 l)

Source : CBRB

 

 

Steel industry segment

  • The German steel production increased by 1.7 % in the 1st half year of 2017, and by 2.7 % in the first nine months of 2017, compared to the same period in 2016.
  • At the Upper Danube, there was an increase in Austria by 8.7 % in the 1st half of 2017 and by 10.1 % in the first nine months of 2017 (Source of all figures on steel production: World Steel Association).
  • In the Middle Danube, the steel production increased strongly both in Hungary and in Serbia, although on a much lower basis than in Austria and Germany. For Hungary there was a plus of 15 % for the 1st half year and of 56 % for the first nine months. The result in Serbia was +47 % in the 1st half year and +34 % in the first nine months.
  • In the Lower Danube, steel production in Bulgaria grew by 30 % both in the 1st half year and also during the first nine months of 2017.
  • Altogether, the evolution of steel production in 2017 presented a good basis for an uptake of transport demand on European inland waterways. This was also confirmed by transport figures for many countries (see chapter 2).

 

 

Construction sector segment

Evolution of building permits for residential homes in the EU (Index 2010=100)

Source : Eurostat

 

  • The transport of sand, gravel and other building materials on inland waterways is promoted by rising and accelerating construction investments in 2017 and 2018. The increase is especially strong in the Netherlands.
  • The Investment climate in the housing sector is currently very positive, both on the demand side (rising household income, low mortgage rates) and on the supply side (rising price level attracting more investment).

 

 

Agricultural products segment

  • The grain harvest in France in 2017 is estimated to surpass the 2016 season by 26 %. This will lead to rising transport volumes in the 2nd half of the year.
  • According to these updated estimations (Source: French Ministry for agriculture) for France, the harvest of soft wheat is 36 % higher in 2017 than the previous year. For hard wheat an increase of 24 % is foreseen, and for barley an increase of 17 %.
  • For Hungary, an important agricultural producing country in the Danube region, estimated harvest results for 2017 are lower than those of the previous year (-16 %) (Source: EU 28 – 2017 Production Forecast – EU Cereals Balance sheet 2016/17 and forecast 2017/18).

 

 

Market Insight
WINTER 2017-2018

A project co-financed byEuropean Commission

Top of the page

Aperçu du marché
PRINTEMPS 2017

Observation du marché
Année 2017

Aperçu du marché
AUTOMNE 2017

Aperçu du marché
HIVER 2017-2018

4 Chapitres disponibles - Télécharger le PDF

La conjoncture économique en Europe

Taux de croissance trimestriel du PIB réel (%) et perspectives pour la zone euro (%)

Source : OCDE - Perspectives économiques janvier 2017 et juin 2017

 

 

  • Le rythme de la croissance économique en Europe a dépassé les attentes au début de l’année, porté par la vigueur de la consommation privée, une reprise synchronisée à l’échelle mondiale et des taux d’intérêt peu élevés.
  • En Allemagne, la plus importante économie européenne, la croissance annuelle pour 2017 devrait être de 2,3 %, contre 1,9 % pour l’ensemble de la zone euro. Pour 2018, le taux estimé est de 1,9 % en Allemagne et de 1,7 % dans la zone euro.
  • En Allemagne, la croissance est actuellement tirée par les exportations et les investissements, ainsi que par l’augmentation de la consommation privée. Dans le secteur manufacturier, les nouvelles commandes et les perspectives de production se sont améliorées.

 

Exportations des pays de l’Union européenne (UE) vers des pays tiers (extra-UE-28) et membres de l'Union européenne (intra-UE-28) (Indice 2010 = 100)

Source : Eurostat

 

  • Les exportations des pays de l’UE vers les pays hors UE sont stimulées par une reprise mondiale synchronisée, liée à l’économie des pays BRIC (Chine, Russie, Brésil, Inde).
  • L’appréciation de l’euro par rapport au dollar américain depuis le printemps 2017 a pu quelque peu freiner cette croissance, sans pour autant en modifier l’orientation générale (Selon les prévisions de la Commission européenne (prévisions économiques européennes – automne 2017, publiées en novembre 2017), le taux de change effectif nominal de l’euro devrait s’apprécier d’environ 6 % sur les années 2017 et 2018. Cela pourrait ralentir la progression des exportations, sans pour autant la modifier fondamentalement).
  • Les échanges intracommunautaires poursuivent leur progression et se sont accélérés depuis le début de l’année. De même, depuis janvier 2017, les importations en provenance de pays hors UE vers l’UE ont régulièrement augmenté et les importations du deuxième trimestre 2017 ont augmenté de 1 % par rapport au deuxième trimestre 2016.

 

 

 

Activité industrielle et navigation intérieure

Indice de la production industrielle dans l'UE-28 et du transport de marchandises dans l'UE

Source : Eurostat

 

Indice de la production industrielle dans l'UE-28 et du transport de marchandises dans l'UE

Source : Eurostat

 

 

  • À l’instar des exportations, la croissance de la production industrielle s’est accélérée depuis le début de l’année 2017. Le taux de croissance sur un an s’établit à 2 % au premier trimestre 2017, à 3 % au deuxième trimestre 2017 et à déjà 4 % au troisième trimestre 2017.
  • La prestation de transport de la navigation intérieure dans l’UE a atteint 38,5 milliards de tkm au deuxième trimestre 2017, contre 38,0 milliards de tkm au deuxième trimestre 2016. Le taux de croissance sur un an a été de 1,2 %, soit environ deux fois moins que celui de la production industrielle.
  • Malgré la reprise du transport fluvial au deuxième trimestre 2017, il subsiste un écart dans la dynamique de croissance par rapport à la production industrielle.

 

 

Situation économique des secteurs liés à la navigation intérieure

Segment des produits pétroliers

Production des raffineries dans l'UE et cours du pétrole brut

Source : Eurostat (production des raffineries) et Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (cours du pétrole)

 

Production des raffineries dans l'UE et cours du pétrole brut

Source : Eurostat (production des raffineries) et Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (cours du pétrole)

 

  • Les cours du pétrole ont baissé au 1er semestre, mais cette tendance a été inversée par le renforcement de la demande mondiale en pétrole et par les perturbations de la production consécutives aux ouragans aux USA.
  • L’offre sera affectée par deux points principaux: 1. L’OPEP et la Russie ont décidé de prolonger leurs réductions de la production jusqu’en mars 2018. 2. La production américaine de pétrole de schiste continue d’augmenter.
  • Contrebalançant ces deux effets et compte tenu d’une demande pétrolière en légère hausse, les prévisions pour les cours du pétrole en 2018 et 2019 font état d’un niveau de 55,7 US $ en 2018 (moyenne) et d’un niveau similaire en 2019 (Prévisions économiques européennes – automne 2017, publié en novembre 2017).
  • Les prix des carburants en navigation intérieure se sont maintenus à la hausse au deuxième trimestre 2017 et ont augmenté en moyenne de 30 % par rapport au deuxième trimestre 2016. Pour le 2ème semestre et pour 2018, un mouvement latéral est probable au vu des prévisions concernant les cours du pétrole pour cette période.

 

Évolution des prix des carburants dans le secteur du transport fluvial (€/100 l)

Source : CBRB

 

 

Segment de l’industrie sidérurgique

  • La production sidérurgique allemande a augmenté de 1,7 % au 1er semestre 2017 et de 2,7 % au cours des neuf premiers mois de 2017 par rapport à la même période en 2016.
  • Sur le Danube supérieur, l’Autriche a enregistré une hausse de 8,7 % au 1er semestre 2017 et de 10,1 % au cours des neuf premiers mois de 2017 (Source de toutes les données relatives à la production d’acier : Association mondiale de l’acier).
  • Sur le Danube moyen, la production d’acier a fortement augmenté en Hongrie et en Serbie, bien que sur une base beaucoup plus basse qu’en Autriche et en Allemagne. En Hongrie a été enregistrée une hausse de 15 % pour le 1er semestre et de 56 % pour les neuf premiers mois. En Serbie, la hausse a été de 47 % pour le 1er semestre et de 34 % pour les neuf premiers mois.
  • Sur le Danube inférieur, la production d’acier a augmenté de 30 % en Bulgarie, tant au 1er semestre qu’au cours des neuf premiers mois de 2017.
  • De manière générale, l’évolution de la production sidérurgique en 2017 a constitué une bonne base pour une reprise de la demande de transport sur les voies de navigation intérieure européennes. Cela a également été confirmé par les données relatives au transport dans de nombreux pays (voir le chapitre 2).

 

Segment du secteur de la construction

Évolution des permis de construire pour les habitations résidentielles dans l'UE (indice 2010=100)

Source : Eurostat

 

  • Le transport de sable, de gravier et d’autres matériaux de construction sur les voies navigables intérieures est soutenu par des investissements croissants et accélérés dans la construction en 2017 et 2018. La hausse est particulièrement marquée aux Pays-Bas.
  • Dans le secteur du logement, le contexte est actuellement très favorable à l’investissement tant du côté de la demande (hausse des revenus des ménages, faibles taux d’emprunt) que de l’offre (hausse des prix incitant davantage à l’investissement).

 

 

Segment des produits agricoles

  • Selon les estimations, les récoltes céréalières en France seront supérieures de 26 % à celles de la saison 2016. Cela se traduira par une augmentation des volumes transportés au second semestre.
  • Selon ces estimations actualisées pour la France, la récolte de blé tendre est supérieure de 36 % en 2017 à celle de l’année précédente (Source: ministère français de l’agriculture). Pour le blé dur est prévue une augmentation de 24 % et pour l’orge une augmentation de 17 %.
  • Pour la Hongrie, important pays de production agricole dans la région du Danube, les estimations de récolte pour 2017 sont inférieures à celles de l’année précédente (-16 %) (Source : prévisions de production pour l’UE 28 en 2017 – bilan céréalier de l’UE 2016/17 et prévisions pour 2017/18)

 

 

Aperçu du marché
HIVER 2017-2018

Un projet co-financé parCommission Européenne

Haut de page