Market Insight
SPRING 2018

Annual report
Year 2018

Market Insight
FALL 2018

Market Insight
WINTER 2018-2019

9 Available chapters - Download the PDF

• The number of accidents on inland waterways has decreased considerably over the past 20 years. In particular, the number of collisions between ships follows a clear downward trend, which can be explained by the introduction of electronic devices and equipment.
• Accident rates vary from one river to another. The Rhine, for example, has a far lower accident rate than the Danube.
• Collisions with infrastructures and bridges remain a type of accident that still shows relatively high numbers.

 

OVERVIEW AND OVERALL EVOLUTION

OF ACCIDENTS

Statistics on accidents in inland shipping are currently very scarce. Eurostat collects accident statistics on a voluntary basis by national statistical offices. Not many countries in the EU deliver accident data and there is no clear evidence on a common methodology among the countries. In addition, the current Eurostat data collection does not provide information about the type or the causes of the accidents. Nevertheless, over the last two years, preparative studies are being carried out in order to set up such a system within the EU. A Eurostat working group, comprised
of Eurostat experts, the national statistical offices, the CCNR, other European river commissions and DG MOVE, has been working on establishing a set of definitions, categories and types of accidents. From 2019 onwards, Eurostat will carry out pilot studies in the EU member countries to test if the elaborated definitions and categories can be put into practice.

In Germany, a collection and very detailed analysis of statistics on accidents was carried out by the German Waterway and Shipping Administration and the Ministry of Transport, but this collection of data ended in 2013. Currently, preparations are in place to set up a new system, based on the older one, but with more categories, and in a regionally more harmonised way. This new system is being prepared within the HAVARIS project. Statistical data from this project, for the period after 2013, are currently only available for three German waterways: the Main, Main-Danube-Canal and Danube. Data for other rivers and canals will follow.

Concerning the total number of accidents, it is interesting to look at the data provided by the “old” system up until 2013.

 

EVOLUTION OF THE NUMBER OF ACCIDENTS ON GERMAN INLAND WATERWAYS (1993-2013)

Source: German Ministry of Transport

CH8 Evolution of the number of accidents on German inland waterways

 

The figure reveals that, within a time span of 20 years, there was a decrease in the number of accidents, from around 1,000 cases in 1993 down to 650 in 2013.

 

TYPES OF ACCIDENTS

Within the previous system (accident statistics until 2013), the following categories for accidents were identified:

• Grounding
• Ship gets stuck
• Collision between ships
• Collision with infrastructure and bridges
• Pounding of waves
• Other accidents

For the years 2010, 2011, 2013 (the latest years for which all inland waterways in Germany are currently covered), the most frequent type of accident was the collision with infrastructure and bridges. This type accounted for 38-40% of all accidents in these three years. The second most frequent type of accident was the collision between ships (18-19%).

 

ACCIDENTS ON GERMAN INLAND WATERWAYS BY TYPE (SHARE IN %)

Source: German Ministry of Transport

CH8 Accidents on German inland waterways by type

 

For the years 2012 and 2013, additional information is available regarding the number of people injured and the number of casualties. In 2012, there were 29 injured persons and 2 fatal casualties. For 2013, the respective figures are 19 injured persons and 2 fatal casualties.

It also must be said that a significant amount of all accidents are in fact accidents of small pleasure boats (not cruise vessels or day trip vessels). In 2013, 82 of all 653 accidents were accidents of pleasure boats. In 2012, this figure was 89 out of 737 accidents.

In order to analyse the evolution of the number of accidents by types of accidents over a longer time period, the Rhine is compared with the Danube.

The reason for choosing the Rhine is obvious, as it is the river with the highest transport activity of all German rivers. Even without its tributaries, it accounts for around 70% of the total transport performance of IWT on German inland waterways. In the years 2010, 2011 and 2013, the Rhine’s share of all accidents on all German waterways was 33%, 35% and 34% respectively.

These figures indicate that the accident rate on the Rhine is relatively low, compared to its transport activity. It seems reasonable to attribute this to the high level of quality of its navigational infrastructure. It should also be kept in mind that among the German waterways, there are many smaller ones, on which the quality of navigational infrastructure is certainly not as good as on the Rhine.

 

EVOLUTION OF THE NUMBER OF ACCIDENTS ON THE RHINE BY TYPE OF ACCIDENT

Source: German Ministry of Transport

CH8 Evolution of the number of accidents on the Rhine by type of accident

 

For the Rhine, the share of cases “ship gets stuck” was 32% in 2013, compared to 16.5% on all German inland waterways. The share of cases “collision between ships” was 15% in 2013, compared to 18.5% over the whole network. The collision with infrastructure and bridges represented 36% on the Rhine, and 40.1% in the whole network.

Overall it is observed that the number of collisions of ships on the Rhine reduced in number between 1993 and 2013. This can be explained by the introduction of electronic systems, which reduce the probability of this type of accident. Also, the category “ship gets stuck” shows far fewer cases in 2013 than 20 years previously. However, the collision with infrastructure and bridges does not show a reduction but an increase.

The share of the German part of the Danube in total transport performance on German waterways is 1.4%. The share of accidents on the Danube in all accidents on the German network was 6.9% in 2013. The Danube’s accident rate is therefore relatively high.

 

EVOLUTION OF THE NUMBER OF ACCIDENTS ON THE GERMAN DANUBE BY TYPE OF ACCIDENT

Source: German Ministry of Transport and German Waterway and Shipping Administration (data for 2015, 2016, 2017)

CH8 Evolution of the number of accidents on the German Danube by type of accidents

 

For the German Danube, the accidents of the type “ship gets stuck” decreased strongly in numbers up until 2017. In that year, its share in all Danube accidents was 14%.

Also the number of collisions between vessels shows a falling trend. Nevertheless, it still represented 22% of all Danube accidents in 2017. This share is above the national average observed for the year 2013.

The collision with infrastructure and bridges represented 44% on the Danube in 2013, but it decreased constantly to reach 27% in 2017. The absolute number rose until 2005 but fell afterwards.

Overall it is observed that both on the Rhine and on the (German part of the) Danube, the more dangerous types of accidents, such as collisions between ships, showed a decreasing trend between 1993 and 2013 (for the Rhine) and between 1993 and 2017 (for the Danube). Both the installation and introduction of further electronic devices are expected to reduce the number of such accidents further in the future.

Also, the type of accident “ship gets stuck” has strongly reduced on the Rhine and Danube. However, the collision with infrastructure and bridges does not show a clear reduction.

Annual report
Year 2018

0Chapter available

Market Insight
WINTER 2018-2019

A project co-financed byEuropean Commission

Top of the page

Aperçu du marché
PRINTEMPS 2018

Observation du marché
Année 2018

Aperçu du marché
AUTOMNE 2018

Aperçu du marché
HIVER 2018-2019

9 Chapitres disponibles - Télécharger le PDF

• Le nombre d’accidents sur les voies de navigation intérieure a considérablement diminué au cours des 20 dernières années. En particulier, le nombre de collisions entre bateaux suit une nette tendance à la baisse, ce qui peut s’expliquer par l’introduction d’appareils et d’équipements électroniques.

• Les taux d’accidents varient d’une voie d’eau à l’autre. Sur le Rhin, par exemple, le taux d’accidents est bien inférieur à celui enregistré sur le Danube.

• Le nombre des abordages de ponts et d’infrastructures demeure relativement élevé.

 

Synthèse et évolution

Générale du nombre d’accidents

 

Les statistiques relatives aux accidents en navigation intérieure sont actuellement très rares. Eurostat collecte des statistiques concernant les accidents réalisées sur une base volontaire par les offices statistiques nationaux. Peu de pays de l’UE fournissent des données relatives aux accidents et il ne semble pas exister de méthodologie commune entre les pays. En outre, les données actuelles d’Eurostat ne comportent pas d’informations sur le type ou les causes des accidents. Des études préparatoires sont néanmoins en cours depuis deux ans afin de mettre en place un tel système au sein de l’UE. Un groupe de travail d’Eurostat, composé d’experts d’Eurostat, des offices statistiques nationaux, de la CCNR, d’autres commissions fluviales et de la DG MOVE, a travaillé à l’établissement d’un ensemble de définitions, de catégories et de types d’accidents. À partir de 2019, Eurostat réalisera des études pilotes dans les États membres de l’UE afin de vérifier si les définitions et les catégories développées peuvent être mises en pratique.

En Allemagne, une collecte et une analyse très détaillée des statistiques relatives aux accidents ont été effectuées par l’administration allemande des voies d’eau et de la navigation et par le ministère des transports, mais cette collecte de données a pris fin en 2013. Des préparatifs sont en cours pour mettre en place un nouveau système, basé sur l’ancien, mais avec davantage de catégories et d’une manière plus harmonisée au niveau régional. Ce nouveau système est en cours de développement dans le cadre du projet HAVARIS. Les données statistiques de ce projet, pour la période postérieure à 2013, ne sont actuellement disponibles que pour trois voies navigables allemandes : le Main, le canal Main-Danube et le Danube. Les données concernant d’autres voies navigables suivront.

En ce qui concerne le nombre total d’accidents, il est intéressant d’examiner les données fournies par le système précédent jusqu’en 2013.

 

Évolution du nombre d’accidents sur les voies navigables allemandes 1993-2013

Source : Ministère allemand des transports

CH8 Evolution of the number of accidents on German inland waterways

 

Ce graphique révèle que, sur une période de 20 ans, le nombre d’accidents a diminué, passant d’environ 1 000 cas en 1993 à 650 cas en 2013.

 

Types d’accidents

 

Dans le système précédent (statistiques relatives aux accidents jusqu’en 2013), étaient répertoriées les catégories d’accidents suivantes :

  • Échouage
  • Bateau bloqué
  • Collision entre bateaux
  • Collision avec des infrastructures et des ponts
  • Battement des vagues
  • Autres accidents

Au cours des années 2010, 2011 et 2013 (les dernières années pour lesquelles toutes les voies navigables allemandes sont actuellement couvertes), le type d’accident le plus fréquent était la collision avec des infrastructures et des ponts. Ce type d’accident a représenté entre 38 et 40 % de tous les accidents au cours de ces trois années. Le deuxième type d’accident le plus fréquent était la collision entre bateaux (18-19 %).

 

Accidents sur les voies de navigation intérieure allemandes par type (part en %)

Source : Ministère allemand des transports

CH8 Accidents on German inland waterways by type

 

Pour les années 2012 et 2013, sont disponibles des informations supplémentaires concernant le nombre de personnes blessées et le nombre de victimes. En 2012, on dénombre 29 blessés et 2 morts. En 2013, les chiffres respectifs sont de 19 blessés et 2 morts.

Il convient de préciser qu’un nombre non négligeable des accidents concerne de petits bateaux de plaisance (et non des bateaux de croisière ou des bateaux d’excursions journalières). En 2013, 82 des 653 accidents concernaient des bateaux de plaisance. En 2012, ce chiffre était de 89 sur 737 accidents.

Afin d’analyser l’évolution du nombre d’accidents par types d’accidents sur une période plus longue, le Rhin a été comparé au Danube.

La raison du choix du Rhin va de soi, il s’agit du fleuve sur lequel l’activité de transport est la plus importante parmi toutes les voies fluviales allemandes. Même sans ses affluents, il représente environ 70 % du total de la prestation de transport de la navigation intérieure allemande. En 2010, 2011 et 2013, la part du Rhin sur la totalité des accidents survenus sur l’ensemble des voies navigables allemandes était respectivement de 33 %, 35 % et 34 %.

Ces chiffres révèlent que le taux d’accidents sur le Rhin est relativement bas par rapport à son activité de transport. Il semble que cela soit dû au haut niveau de qualité de son infrastructure de navigation. Il convient également de garder à l’esprit que de nombreuses voies navigables allemandes sont plus petites et que la qualité des infrastructures de navigation y est certainement moins élevée que sur le Rhin.

 

Évolution du nombre d’accidents sur le Rhin par type d’accident

Source : Ministère allemand des transports

CH8 Evolution of the number of accidents on the Rhine by type of accident

 

Pour le Rhin, la part des cas de « bateau bloqué » était de 32 % en 2013, contre 16,5 % sur l’ensemble des voies de navigation intérieure allemandes. La part des cas de « collision entre des bateaux » était de 15 % en 2013, contre 18,5 % sur l’ensemble du réseau. Les collisions de bateaux avec des infrastructures et des ponts représentaient 36 % sur le Rhin et 40,1 % sur l’ensemble du réseau.

Globalement, il apparaît que le nombre de collisions de bateaux sur le Rhin a diminué en nombre entre 1993 et 2013. Cela s’explique par l’introduction de systèmes électroniques qui réduisent la probabilité de ce type d’accident. De plus, la catégorie « bateau bloqué » compte beaucoup moins de cas en 2013 qu’il y a 20 ans. Toutefois, les collisions avec des infrastructures et des ponts sont en hausse et non en baisse.

La part de la section allemande du Danube dans le total de la prestation de transport sur les voies navigables allemandes est de 1,4 %. La part des accidents sur le Danube sur la totalité des accidents survenus sur le réseau allemand était de 6,9 % en 2013. Le taux d’accidents est ainsi relativement élevé sur le Danube.

 

Évolution du nombre d’accidents sur le Danube allemand par type d’accident

Source : Ministère allemand des transports et Administration allemande des voies d’eau et de la navigation (données pour 2015, 2016, 2017)

CH8 Evolution of the number of accidents on the German Danube by type of accidents

 

Pour le Danube allemand, le nombre d’accidents du type « bateau bloqué » a fortement diminué jusqu’en 2017. Cette année-là, sa part sur l’ensemble des accidents survenus sur le Danube était de 14 %.

En outre, le nombre des collisions entre bateaux est en baisse. Néanmoins, il représentait encore 22 % de tous les accidents survenus sur le Danube en 2017. Cette part est supérieure à la moyenne nationale observée pour l’année 2013.

Les collisions de bateaux avec des infrastructures et des ponts représentaient 44 % sur le Danube en 2013, mais ont continuellement diminué pour atteindre 27 % en 2017. Le nombre absolu a augmenté jusqu’en 2005, puis a diminué.

Globalement, il peut être observé que, tant sur le Rhin que sur le Danube, les types d’accidents les plus dangereux, tels que les collisions entre bateaux, ont affiché une tendance à la baisse entre 1993 et 2013 (pour le Rhin) et entre 1993 et 2017 (pour le Danube). L’introduction et le déploiement de nouveaux appareils électroniques devraient permettre de réduire davantage le nombre d’accidents de ce type à l’avenir.

En outre, le type d’accident « bateau bloqué » est en forte baisse sur le Rhin et le Danube. Toutefois, le nombre de collisions avec des infrastructures et des ponts ne diminue pas de manière significative.

Observation du marché
Année 2018

0 Chapitre disponible

Aperçu du marché
AUTOMNE 2018

0 Chapitre disponible

Aperçu du marché
HIVER 2018-2019

Un projet co-financé parCommission Européenne

Haut de page